A List Of All Boxing Organizations

05/15/2023 - No comments

Boxing has numerous organizations, both at the professional and amateur level, that host championships and rank fighters. Here’s a look at some of the major ones:

Professional Boxing Organizations:

  1. World Boxing Association (WBA): Established in 1921, the WBA is the oldest of the four major professional boxing organizations. It hosts championships in 17 weight classes.
  2. World Boxing Council (WBC): Founded in 1963, the WBC has 166 member countries. It hosts championships in 17 weight classes and is known for its iconic green championship belt.
  3. International Boxing Federation (IBF): Founded in 1983, the IBF hosts championships in 17 weight classes. It was initially established as an alternative to the WBA and WBC.
  4. World Boxing Organization (WBO): The WBO was established in 1988 and hosts championships in 17 weight classes. It was born out of political disputes within the WBA.

While the major boxing organizations (WBC, WBA, IBF, WBO) are most recognized worldwide, there are several other minor or regional boxing organizations that also host championships and rank fighters. Here are some of them:

  1. International Boxing Organization (IBO): Although it’s not universally recognized as a major sanctioning body, the IBO has gained some recognition due to its use of computerized rankings and champions who have held belts from the “big four” organizations.
  2. World Boxing Union (WBU): Originally based in the UK, the WBU has sanctioned world title fights and is now mainly active in the United States.
  3. Universal Boxing Organization (UBO): The UBO is a newer organization that sanctions professional boxing matches and crowns world and regional champions.
  4. North American Boxing Federation (NABF): A regional affiliate of the WBC, the NABF sanctions fights in North America.
  5. European Boxing Union (EBU): The EBU sanctions fights in Europe and crowns a European champion in each weight class.
  6. British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC): This organization sanctions fights and crowns British champions, though it’s more of a regulatory body than a sanctioning one.
  7. Commonwealth Boxing Council (CBC): The CBC sanctions fights between boxers from Commonwealth countries and crowns a Commonwealth champion in each weight class.
  8. Asian Boxing Council (ABCO): A regional affiliate of the WBC, the ABCO sanctions fights in Asia.
  9. Oriental and Pacific Boxing Federation (OPBF): The OPBF sanctions fights in countries located in the Pacific Ocean region, excluding the Americas.
  10. African Boxing Union (ABU): The ABU sanctions fights in Africa and crowns an African champion in each weight class.
  11. Federación Latinoamericana de Comisiones de Boxeo (FEDELATIN): An arm of the WBA, FEDELATIN sanctions fights in Latin America.
Ronny Shields Weighs In On Teofimo Lopez's Disturbing Comments

Please note that recognition of these organizations can vary, and the status of certain organizations can change over time. Also, the organizations mentioned above can have different rules and regulations, so it’s essential for fighters and fans to familiarize themselves with the specific rules of each organization.

Amateur Boxing Organizations:

  1. International Boxing Association (IBA): IBA is the international governing body for amateur boxing. It organizes World Championships and oversees the boxing events at the Olympic Games.
  2. USA Boxing: This is the national governing body for Olympic-style boxing in the United States. It oversees amateur boxing clubs and competitions across the country.
  3. England Boxing: The national governing body for amateur boxing in England, overseeing clubs and competitions.

There are similar national governing bodies for amateur boxing in many other countries.

Women’s Boxing Organizations:

Women’s professional boxing is governed by the same organizations as men’s boxing, including the WBA, WBC, IBF, and WBO. In amateur boxing, women compete in the same organizations as men, including IBA and the various national governing bodies.

It’s worth noting that there are also numerous “interim”, “regular”, “super”, and “franchise” champions within the same weight class for each organization, which can make the landscape of boxing championships somewhat confusing. These additional titles are often created due to various logistical or business reasons within the sport.

Leave a Comment